Arriving in Oaxaca, Mexico

The plane descended over Oaxaca, and my nerves settled as the mesmerizing city lights came into view.  I had been a little anxious about the trip because of my minimal Spanish proficiency and unfamiliarity with the region. But the view from above gave me good vibes. We landed, and I stepped out of the plane to the warm tropical climate. The humidity made me nostalgic about past trips to Asia that I had enjoyed so much. I got through customs and was warmly greeted by Margara and her husband, whom I started calling “Leonardo di Caprio” by the end of the car ride. They were so friendly and gladly reciprocated my attempts to converse in broken Spanish. We drove through parts of downtown, and I noticed people out and about in the streets gathered at food carts or dressed up and heading to parties. Margara and Leo explained that Saturday night was for fiestas!

When we arrived at the home stay, a sweet elderly woman, Margara’s mother Seniora Clara Hernandez, greeted me just as warmly. I met the whole family including two very cute little boys, Rafael and Francisco. Sra. Hernandez showed me to my room, and I was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations. I had my own room and room key, bathroom, and even internet, so it really felt like a hotel.

IMG_2294

Anyway, things were great so far, and I couldn’t wait to get to know this place and the people better!

Leave a comment