Lessons Learned

Every now and then, I experienced difficulties in Oaxaca because I couldn’t speak or understand Spanish too well. Whether it was figuring out the right bus to take,  having to ask my preceptor to repeat the prescription too many times in order to write it down correctly, or being unable to connect with my host family on a deeper level than over food, I definitely felt the impact of the language barrier more so than I ever have in my life.

I was aware of some of the challenges that language barriers create since my parents are both immigrants to the United States and have encountered difficulties because they couldn’t speak English well. I thought I understood how hard it was for them until my month-long trip to Oaxaca made it even clearer to me. I experienced firsthand just how easy it is to make mistakes or act inefficiently because you don’t understand exactly what is going on. People also tend to see you differently or overlook you when you can’t explain your thoughts coherently, and there’s not much you can do about it in that moment but feel a little trapped by the language barrier.

While I was open to learning Spanish and experiencing Mexican culture, I could also see how nice it could be in a foreign environment to gather with those of a similar background and freely chat in your native language, seek out the food, music and culture you are accustomed to, and enjoy that bit of refuge from the unfamiliar. I had an idea of all of this before because of my parents’ backgrounds, but going through it myself made it all the more salient.  Especially for those who end up in a foreign country for reasons out of their control such as war, poverty, or persecution, this sentiment must apply even more. In the U.S. and other developed countries, it is easy for people to judge immigrants for failing to assimilate, yet many of the people doing the judging have never been in those shoes.

IMG_1732

Overall, my experience in the CFHI program has helped me become more open-minded. I am more aware of challenges that people of different backgrounds might face in healthcare but also in other aspects of their lives. While I may not be able to relate to each individual’s struggles and experiences, I have realized even more the importance of listening and making the effort to understand different perspectives. My month-long experience in Oaxaca, although short in duration, was incredibly enriching, thought-provoking, and has made a huge impact on my mindset. More so than ever, I strive for open-mindedness and tolerance. As a prospective physician, I hope that these qualities will help me better serve my community.

1 thought on “Lessons Learned

Leave a comment